‘Why He Got the award’

Home  »  News Articles  »  ‘Why He Got the award’
Sep 30, 2011 1 Comment ›› ACN (ji)

Asiwaju Bola Tinubu got the Leadership Person of the Year award yesterday because he tenaciously checkmated and crippled totalitarianism in Nigeria, the Leadership newspaper said yesterday.

The former Lagos State governor, who is the National Leader of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), was applauded for remaining committed to the retrieval of the Ekiti and Osun states’ stolen governorship mandate.

The newspaper said Tinubu showed “that injustice can only stand when you refuse to challenge it”.

It said Tinubu demonstrated that one can change the society for better by freeing a people under siege with pragmatic leadership.

The newspaper added: “We acknowledge the capacity of focused individuals to change the society for the better” for providing clear, pragmatic leadership, during the period of freedom under political siege, by patiently deploying the instrumentality of the law to achieve what many thought were lost. For becoming the arrowhead of the opposition party and effectively checkmating and crippling totalitarianism. Tinubu is the Leadership Person of the Year.”

Receiving the award from Amb. Shehu Malami, the leading light of the opposition said: “I accept it not on my own account, but on behalf of all those who believe as I do. I stand here, a Nigerian, proud and unapologetic.

“Despite all that I have endured, I will keep at it, until this race is won. I hold no malice against anyone and seek no one’s harm. I focus on the betterment of my country and the improvement of my people. I see no way to do this than via political and economic democracy and justice.”

Nigerians from all walks of life attended the ceremony. They included National Security Adviser, Gen. Andrew Azazi, Edo State Governor Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, Lagos State Governor Babatunde Fashola, Osun State Governor Rauf Aregbesola, Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi, Ogun State Governor Ibikunle Amosun and Oyo State Governor Abiola Ajimobi.

There were also ACN National Chair Chief Bisi Akande, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, Senators Oluremi Tinubu, Ganiyu Solomon among other lawmakers and other chieftains of the ACN – Chiefs Segun Osoba, Tom Ikimi, Domigo Obende and Ize Iyamu.

Apart from Tinubu, other award winners are: Gen. Buhari (Leadership Politician of the Year) and Oshiomhole (Leadership Governor of the Year).

The others are businessman Jimoh Ibrahim (Business Person of the Year), Mrs Ifueko Omogui-Okauru (Leadership CEO of the Year) and Mrs Evelyn Oputu (Leadership Brand of the Year).

Companies that won awards include DANOGTE (Leadership Brand of the Year), GLOBACOM (Leadership Company of the Year) and ETISALAT (Leadership Telecommunication Company of the Year)


The Nation


  1. 'Biodun says:

    Bola Ahmed Tinubu deserve this award for many things he has done to revive CAN most especially geting back my State (Ogun) and other States.

Leave a Reply